By Anne Marie Tobin

It’s been a glorious fall on the North Shore as area clubs wrapped up their 2017 seasons with annual club championship tournaments. In the fall issue, we highlighted many champions’ stories. We follow up with more results and wish to thank all of the clubs that graciously shared their_st_or_ies_, r_es_ults and photos.

At Sagamore Spring Golf Course in Lynnfield, a husband and wife team took center stage in the club’s stroke play senior championship. Connie Hayton took the women’s gross title, while hubby Joe Hayton won the senior men’s net title.

“That has never happened in my 18 years here at Sagamore,” said PGA teaching instructor and director of teaching Steve Vaughn. “It was really cool to have a husband and wife team winning championships, something really special.”

Fifty-year-old Jim Chesna won the senior gross title in his first attempt, while Donna DiLeso took the women’s senior net title. The 2017 men’s club champion is Dan Tucker, who prevailed over Chesna in the match play final. Bill Yeo won the net title, defeating Bill Tripes in the final. DiIeso doubled up, winning the women’s club championship, while Kathy Rovnak won the women’s net title.

Mac Lee and Karen Joseph won titles at Andover Country Club. Lee shot 295 in the 72-hole men’s championship, while Joseph won the women’s title with a 36-hole score of 192. Thomas Finn took the junior title with a 36-hole total of 157, while Brian Theriault won the senior title with a 36-hole scor_e o_f 1_49_.
At Ferncroft Country Club in Danvers, Steven Camara swept the men’s and seniors’ championships, while Lisa Anderson won the women’s club championship and Trent Han won the junior title.

Mike McAuliffe and Gerry Feeley were first-time winners at Indian Ridge Country Club in Andover with McAuliffe, 50, winning the senior championship in his first attempt over runner-up Peter Ciaccia. Feeley, 70, won the super-senior championship. Chris Dunham defeated Jim Staffieri to take the men’s title. Cheryl Doherty won the women’s club championship and Susan Burnley won the women’s net championship, both for the second straight year.

Sue Mariani won the senior women’s gross championship while Sandra Divincenzo won the net title.

At Nabnasset Lake Country Club in Westford, Dave Walshe won his first men’s club championship, defeating Mike Schnyer 4 & 3 in the final. Molly Smith, 12, is believed to be the youngest women’s champion in the club’s history. Earlier this summer, Smith also won women’s championship titles at Vesper Country Club in Tyngsboro and Mount Pleasant Golf Club in Lowell. Steve Jackson won his second senior title, while 66-year-old Al Burndrett won his first super-senior title.

Morgan Smith, 13, Molly’s older sister, completed the family grand slam, winning the women’s club championship at Long Meadow Golf Club in Lowell.

Myopia Hunt Club in South Hamilton crowned several champions this summer. Josh Webber defeated Ted Ober 1-up in the 18-hole final to win the men’s club championship. In another close match, Deidre Clark defeated Penny Ward 1-up, also in 18 holes, to take the women’s title. Ward found the winner’s circle, though, taking the season- long net match play championship, defeating Marcie Hunsaker in the final, 3&2, while Jeff Murphy captured the men’s net championship, defeating Webber in 18 holes, 1-up. The senior championship was won by Joe Roberts, who defeated Carle Shotwell, 4&3, while R.J. Fates defeated G.L. Needham, 3&2, to capture the super-senior title for the 70-and-over set. Tom Riley won the junior championship.

At Renaissance Golf Club in Haverhill, Jeff Weischaar won the men’s club championship and Teri Burtoft won the women’s club championship. Weischaar defeated Pete Beaulieu, 2-up, while Burtoft defeated Betsy Masse, 2&1. Joe Harnden won the senior club championship for the umpteenth time, while Lynn Wailes won her first senior women’s title. Jim McDonald was the senior men’s net title, while Joan Apkin captured the senior women’s net championship. James Robbins won the junior club championship and Ava Spencer won the junior-junior club championship.

Erica Allen and James Whitney successfully defended their 2016 titles at Beverly Golf & Tennis Club.

Nick Maccario completed a dream summer, winning his fourth men’s club championship in the past seven years at Bradford Golf Club in Haverhill. Maccario shot a 2-under par 211 over the 54-hole event to win by a whopping 19 shots over Dustin Rollins. Earlier in the summer, Maccario was a quarterfinalist in the Massachusetts Amateur and finished fourth at the Ouimet Memorial Tournament. He also lapped the field at the 2017 Healey Memorial Tournament, formerly the Rogers Tournament, shooting a Bradford course-record 8-under-par 63 to win by 12 shots. Jim Drohen won his third senior title in the past five years in a 2-hole playoff win over Jim Grant. Both players finished the 36-hole stroke play rounds tied at 152 before Drohen sealed the victory with a par on the second extra hole.

At scenic Cape Ann Golf Club in Essex, Kendall Stone won the men’s club championship with a 36-hole total of 159, while Bailey Kaplan took the women’s title with a 173. Robert Hawkes won the men’s senior championship with a 160, while Ted Stanton won the net division with a 134. David Hascard, 64, won the men’s super-senior title with a 168, while Andrea Young won the women’s net championship with a 14_4.

Wendy Vanderhart won the women’s club championship at Hillview Golf Course, while Dennis Rollfs won the men’s club championship in a playoff over Tyler Currie. Both players finished the 36-hole tournament tied at 148, then Rollfs secured his first title with a par on the first extra hole. Alex Chaisson won the men’s Net A division title, while George Stack won the B division.

At Rockport Golf Club, Jeff Hobbs won his twelfth men’s title with a 72-hole score of 287, 14 shots ahead of runner-up Kevin Olson. Beth Rowen shot a 3-round 287 and won her first Rockport title over Dani Dragonas, who was four shots back. Mike Palazola, in his first time playing as a senior, took the senior title with a 36-hole 157.

FacebookTwitterPinterestGoogle +Stumbleupon